Essential CMMI® Certification for Contracts is coming soon

CMMI® Certification NASA SEWP VI and GSA OASIS+ Contracts 

The NASA SEWP (pronounced soup) program is an innovative procurement process which streamlines access to critical technologies and solutions for all federal agencies. Think of it as a one-stop shop for ICT and AV solutions for the Federal Government – providing access to approved vendors across the nation. In fact, SEWP consists of over 140 pre-competed Prime Contract Holders, including more than 110 Small Businesses.

So, are you looking to be added to the SEWP list of contractors? The latest version, SEWP VI, was released in 2023 with the final RFP expected this month. With SEWP VI comes some changes to CMMI requirements – below, we dive into these updates, and a brief background on the program, as well as what you need to know before you start the process. 

What is NASA SEWP?

The NASA SEWP (Solutions for Enterprise-Wide Procurement) GWAC (Government-Wide Acquisition Contract) provides the latest in Information and Communications Technology (ICT) and Audio-Visual (AV) products and services for all Federal Agencies and their approved contractors. In other words, all federal agencies, including the Department of Defense (DOD), and government contractors are able to purchase ICT and AV solutions from SEWP-authorized contract holders. 

A, B, C SEWP – Categories 

SEWP VI brought out some positive changes with expanded categories which include IT services beyond those traditionally bundled with IT parts/supplies. Categories include: 

Category A- IT Solutions (Products-Information Computer Technology (ICT) 

This category represents a broad suite of IT solutions, i.e. technology in which there is an intertwining of products, such as a laptop, and services, such as maintenance and installation, requirements. Each technology area includes specific mandatory technology that must be supplied; however offerings should not be limited to those specific mandatory areas. 

Category B Enterprise-wide IT Solutions (Products and Service Solutions) 

Category B provides federal agencies with customized Enterprise-Wide Strategic Solutions that improve and enhance the Agency ICT/AV infrastructure through methodologies including managed services such as computer or printer services; and shared services such as Agency-wide help desk ticketing systems, enterprise-wide security and application services. Services may be performed at Government and/or Contractor locations worldwide, as specified in each Order.

Category C – IT Professional Services (Information Communication Technology (ICT) and Audio Visual (AV) SERVICES)

Finally, Category C offers federal agencies with customized solutions at a mission/program level that improve and enhance a ICT/AV infrastructure through methodologies including custom computer programming services, telecommunication services, data processing and analysis services, hosting, and related services, IT and network operation and computer facilities, ICT and AV management services, IT consulting and educational services, digital government services, and cybersecurity and security systems services. Services may be performed at Government and/or Contractor locations worldwide, as specified in each order.

So, what’s important to know for CMMI certification when it comes to SEWP?

Bidders will need to provide a certain number of relevant experience projects (REP) that cover a minimum number of mandatory sub-areas. These vary by category HOWEVER, for all categories, bidders must provide a third-party compliance verification with the ISO 9001 standard via a current ISO 9001:2008 or 9001:2015 Certification at the time of proposal submission. 

Read more on ISO Implementation here!

In addition, for categories B and C, the bidder must provide third party compliance verification with Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) via a current CMMI- Development (CMMI-DEV) or CMMI-Services (CMMI-SVC) Appraisal at Maturity Level 2 or higher. Verification requirements include; a copy of your official Appraisal Disclosure Statement from a CMMI Institute Certified Lead Appraiser (active, not expired), POC information including the name of the appraisal body and name, phone number, and email of the representative who provided the CMMI appraisal.

Your evaluation will be conducted on a pass/fail basis – so it’s critical you are prepared. Any bid which does not meet the requirement will be notified and no longer eligible for award. Offerors that meet the requirement will have their proposal proceed to Phase 2 of the evaluation process.

Ready to take on the SEWP and CMMI Certification process? We’re here for you. Alluvionic’s expertise ensures a smooth and disruption-free transition to compliance, tailored to your unique organizational needs.

Learn more about conquering your CMMI certifications by learning how Alluvionic can help!

Articles & News

Contact Us


Fill out the form below to access our checklist that will ensure your project's success!